All Collections
Roles and Permissions
Adjusting User Permissions
Adjusting User Permissions

Permissions give users different access levels in your account. Change permissions at any time from the personal profile page of each user.

Updated over a week ago

Managing user permissions is essential for the security and efficiency of any system. Whether assigning permissions to employees, clients, or contractors, in Productive, the process is simple and intuitive.

Note: Adding users such as Employees and Contractors to your account will be possible only after you've made sure you have an adequate number of paid seats in your account.


In this article, we'll walk you through the steps of changing a user's permissions, allowing you to tailor access levels to your organization's needs.

To change permissions for a user, select the user and click on the three-dot menu, then choose "Edit permissions".

From there, you can switch the user to an employee, a client, or a contractor role.

Employees

Employees (paid seats) can be assigned one of these default system permission sets:

  • Admin

  • Coordinator (+ Coordinator with restricted access)

  • Manager (+ Manager with restricted access)

  • Profitability manager (+ Profitability manager with restricted access)

  • Staff (+ Staff with CRM access, Staff with CRM and time access, Staff with time access)

Note that any restricted-access permissions sets mean that the users will need to be manually added to a project or budget for them to see and work on it!

For more information on Employee permissions, please check out the following article:
Productive: Permissions by role.

Tip: On top of the system permission sets mentioned above, you can build custom permission sets you can assign to users as well.

Check out this article for more information about customizing your permission sets.

Admin

Admins can manage everything, including cost rates and general organization-level settings.

Coordinator

The Coordinator sits between a Staff member with extended permissions and a Manager. This user has access to everything project-wise, besides project financials (budgets and profitability).

Coordinators can access, schedule, and add people to projects, overseeing time components within budgets and approving time off but without access to financial data or approving time entries. They enjoy full project access.

Restricted Coordinators have similar permissions but are confined to projects they are members of, maintaining the same limitations on financial data and time entries while overseeing time budgets and approving time off.

Manager

Managers can oversee projects and deals, with access to all deals containing pertinent financial details excluding cost and profit. They lack access to cost rates and organization-level settings. This permission set grants access to all deals and projects.

Similar to regular Managers, those with restricted access can manage projects and deals, accessing all relevant financial information except for cost and profit. They are also barred from accessing cost rates and organization-level settings.

However, this permission set limits access to deals and projects only where the user is defined as a member. Note that Managers with restricted access can create projects and add budgets there.

Profitability manager

In addition to all the information a Manager can see, the Profitability Manager also has access to the budget's profit and revenue information as well as the profit of the whole organization.


Profitability managers can oversee projects and deals, with access to all deal-related financial information. However, they are restricted from accessing cost rates and organization-level settings. This permission set grants access to all deals and projects.

Similarly, Restricted profitability managers can oversee projects and deals, with access to relevant financial data but not to cost rates or organization-level settings. However, their access is limited to deals and projects where they are defined as members.

Staff

Staff is a role with a basic set of permissions. Staff members can manage tasks and task lists and collaborate on projects.

Staff members can't access company settings, financial information, or cost rates.

They can't manage People and Companies or see other people's time entries by default.

Staff members have access to all projects they are a part of, where they can manage tasks, task lists, and collaborate. They can view their own time tracking and scheduling but cannot access organizational settings or financial information by default.

Staff (with CRM access): In addition to regular staff privileges, those with CRM access can also manage people and companies within the projects they are involved in.

Staff (with CRM and time access): Building on the previous permissions, staff members with CRM and time access can also view and manage other people's bookings, worked time, and service estimates on budgets.

Staff (with time access): Similarly to the previous category, staff members with time access can view and manage other people's bookings, worked time, and service estimates on budgets, but without CRM access.

Clients

Clients (not counted as paid seats) can manage tasks and task lists and collaborate on projects. Clients can also get access to budgets and timesheets if you tick the "Can access budgets and time sheets" box while setting up their user permissions.

On top of that, you can build custom client permissions in the Permission builder. Take a look at this article for more information.​

Important: This global permission, granting budget and timesheet access, is specific to a particular client.

To provide the client access to a specific budget, navigate to the project, select the budget, and enable Client access from the sidebar located in the upper right corner, as illustrated in the picture below.

Contractors

Contractors (also counted as paid seats alongside Employees) can:

  • Collaborate on projects they were added to

  • Manage tasks and task lists (but not add or delete task lists)

  • View their bookings in Resourcing

  • Manage Docs (they can add new Docs as well as work on docs shared with them)

  • Submit personal expenses (tied to services and budgets they were added to)

  • View and manage their time entries

  • Be assigned to and use time-off entitlements (request time off)

  • Have a cost rate set up

Did this answer your question?