Understanding how different permission sets interact and how to change other users' permission sets is crucial for effective access management in Productive.
Whether you're an admin, manager, or user with custom permissions, this guide will explain the permission set-switching options available to you!
To modify another user's permission set, simply navigate to the user's profile (via Settings > Users or Resourcing > Employees), open their Info tab, and select the desired permission set.
If your organization was created before mid-August 2026, you'll have a few additional permission sets not listed here, and Client Lead and Client Collaborator will appear as Client Manager and Client Staff instead.
đ See Why Your Permission Set List May Look Different for how older organizations differ.
Permissions for Plans Without the Custom Permission Sets
Custom permission sets are available on the Ultimate subscription plan.
Admin
Can change the permission set of all users except the organization owner and their own.
Can switch the user's permission set to any available system permission set.
Profitability Manager
Can change the permission set for the following: Profitability Manager, Manager, Coordinator, Staff, Client Lead, Client Collaborator, Contractor.
Can switch the user's permission set to Profitability Manager, Manager, Coordinator, Staff, Client Lead, Client Collaborator, or Contractor.
Manager
Can change the permission set for the following: Manager, Coordinator, Staff, Client Lead, Client Collaborator, and Contractor.
Can switch the user's permission set to Manager, Coordinator, Staff, Client Lead, Client Collaborator, or Contractor.
Other Users
Users with a permission set other than those specified above cannot change other users' permission sets.
Permissions for Plans With the Custom Permission Sets
Custom permission sets are available on the Ultimate subscription plan.
Admin
Can change the permission set of all users except the organization owner and their own.
Can switch the user's permission set to any available system permission set or any custom permission set.
Non-Admin Users
Follow the same rules as described for plans without the custom permission sets.
Custom Permission Sets with "Change" Permissions Enabled
Users with custom permission sets and the "Change users' permission sets" permission (Superadmin permission) can change the permission sets of other users (except the owner and themselves) to any available client or user role, depending on their permissions.


