Skip to main content
All CollectionsRoles and PermissionsGeneral Information
Understanding Role-Switching Permissions
Understanding Role-Switching Permissions

Explore changing user access permissions in Productive.

Updated over a week ago

Understanding how different roles interact and how to change other users' permissions is crucial for effective access management in Productive.

Whether you're an admin, manager, or user with custom permissions, this guide will explain the role-switching options available to you!

To modify another user's permissions, simply navigate to the user's profile and select "Edit permissions" from the three-dot menu on the right, or click directly beneath the user's name.

Refer to the guide below for detailed instructions tailored to your permissions level.

Permissions for Plans Without the Permission Builder

The custom permission builder is available on the Ultimate subscription plan.

Admin

  • Can change the role of all users except the organization owner and their own.

  • Can switch the user's role to any available system role.

Profitability Manager

  • Can change the roles of users with the following permissions: Profitability Manager (+restricted), Manager (+restricted), Coordinator, Staff, Client Manager, Client Staff, Contractor.

  • Can switch the user's role to Profitability Manager (+restricted), Manager (+restricted), Coordinator, Staff, Client Manager, Client Staff, or Contractor.

Profitability Manager (with restricted access)

  • Can change the roles of users with the following permissions: Profitability Manager (restricted), Manager (restricted), Coordinator, Staff, Client Manager, Client Staff, Contractor.

  • Can switch the user's role to Profitability Manager, Coordinator, Staff, Client Manager, Client Staff, or Contractor.

Manager

  • Can change the roles of users with the following permissions: Manager (+restricted), Coordinator, Staff, Client Manager, Client Staff, and Contractor.

  • Can switch the user's role to Manager (+restricted), Coordinator, Staff, Client Manager, Client Staff, Contractor.

Manager (with restricted access)

  • Can change the roles of users with the following permissions: Manager (restricted), Coordinator, Staff, Client Manager, Client Staff, and Contractor.

  • Can switch the user's role to Manager (restricted), Manager, Coordinator, Staff, Client Manager, or Client Staff.

Other Roles

  • Users with roles other than those specified above cannot change the role of another user.

Permissions for Plans With the Permission Builder

The custom permission builder is available on the Ultimate subscription plan.

Admin

  • Can change the role of all users except the organization owner and their own.

  • Can switch the user's role to any available system role or any custom permission set.

Non-Admin Users

  • Follow the same rules as described for plans without the Permission builder.

Custom Roles with Enabled Permissions

  • Users with custom roles and the Change users' permission sets (Superadmin permission) can change the roles of other users (except the owner and themselves) to any available client or user role, depending on their permissions.


โ€‹

Did this answer your question?