In addition to tracking the time spent against your budgets manually, you may want to set up an automated notification when the budget is close to being used up.

To do so, first head over to your budget and note the Time warning option here:

If we want to turn time warnings on, just click on the small arrow beneath the text and type in the desired percentage in the box that appears:

This means that once 80% of the billable time (not worked time!) has been tracked against this budget, the budget owner will receive the following email:

Click here to change the budget owner, and therefore the person that gets time warnings:

There are a few important things to note:

  • If the budget requires time approval, only approved time counts against this time warning. You can read more about time approval here.

  • Additionally, you may only define time warnings as a percentage of the billable time, not as a set number. So for example, you can set the warning to go off when 80 % of the time has been logged, but not to go off when 8 out of 10 hours have been logged.

  • The warning is set on the budget level. This means that you cannot receive warnings per each individual service on the budget, only across all services on the budget.

  • Time warnings are sent only to the budget owner, not to the subscribers. If you're a budget owner, you can expect to receive the warning immediately, but it may arrive with a slight delay, generally no more than a minute.

Did this answer your question?