Skip to main content

Project Members

Add people to projects, and remove people from projects. Change the Project Manager.

There are three ways how you can add people to a project.

Let Them Join Themselves

If they can see it, users can join every project in Productive on their own.
​
Users with sufficient system permissions like Admins, Managers, Profitability Managers, and Coordinators will have access to all projects due to their permissions.

In organizations created before mid-August 2026, Manager, Profitability Manager, and Coordinator each have a restricted variant that does not get automatic access to all projects.

👉 See Why Your Permission Set List May Look Different for the full breakdown.

User's Profile Screen

Find the user in Resourcing > Employees for employees and contractors, or CRM > Contacts for clients, and navigate to their Projects tab. Search for a project and select it from a dropdown menu.

📌 Tip: You can add more projects to the same person at once. Search again, and select another project. When you're done click the "Add to X projects" button.

Add Project Members Directly from the Project

1) Navigate to Projects in the main menu (Project Management > Projects) and select the project you want to update.
​

2) Locate the project-sharing icon in the upper left. This allows you to add or remove people.

3) To add someone:

  • Type their name or select a team from the search bar.

  • Click the Add button to include them in the project.

4) To remove someone:

  • Find their name in the list.

  • Click the Remove icon next to their name (🗑️).

For additional details on sharing settings, check out our project-sharing options guide.


​📌 Note: Users cannot be added via bulk actions in the projects list. Add them individually from the project or through their profile screen.
​

📌 Adding users isn’t limited to existing projects—you can assign individuals, teams, or groups while creating the project itself. For more details, see How to Create a New Project.
​

Removing or Changing the Project Manager

Every project in Productive requires a designated Project Manager.

While you can change who the Project Manager is, it’s not possible to completely remove the role from a project.
​

How to Change the Project Manager

  1. Open the project sidebar and select Edit Project.

  2. Assign the project to a new Project Manager.

  3. Click Update Project to save your changes.

Did this answer your question?