A workflow is a predefined status setup for task management.

One of the main benefits of Workflows is that they allow you to move subtasks to statuses (task lists) other than their respective parent tasks.

1. Set up a Workflow

To set up your Workflow, go to Settings - Workflows:


A default workflow will always be shown but you can create a new one with custom statuses.

Status fields are broken down into three main categories:

  • Not started

  • Started

  • Closed

The Default workflow will only have 2 statuses - one started and one closed:


You can edit it by adding more statuses, or create a new workflow to look like this:


2. Enabling Workflows in Projects

Open the project's sidebar and navigate to Workflows:


Select the Workflow for that project from the dropdown list:


And finally, select default statuses for new tasks, as well as closed tasks:


💡 Projects can have different workflows - for example, you can select a development workflow for one project, and a design workflow for another.

Here's how the Task will now look with more status options:

3. Switch from Task Lists to Workflows

To switch from lists to statuses, select Migrate to workflows and select new task statuses based on your active lists:

Migrating task lists to workflows is a one-time process that only at that point in time adds statuses to tasks from active task lists. This process can be repeated, but it does not create an active connection between tasks lists and statuses.


Now, you can group Tasks by Status which will enable you to drag and drop all tasks, including subtasks to different statuses:

4. Archiving a Workflow

To archive a workflow, select the Archive icon next to the workflow you want to remove:

By archiving a workflow, you will be freeing up space for new workflows. In this example, archiving the Default workflow will show 4/5 used workflows.

Archived workflows will remain in projects until those projects are moved over to another workflow:


A similar message will be displayed on tasks as well.
Task status cannot be changed with an archived workflow active on a project:

💡 Archived workflows can be restored, provided you have enough unused workflows on your account.

For more information check out the full video tutorial below:

Guide to Workflows

Did this answer your question?