All Collections
Tasks
Task Organization
Creating and Managing Workflows
Creating and Managing Workflows

Set up custom task statuses and organize your project tasks using Workflows.

Updated over a week ago

Productive's workflows allow you to organize your tasks in stages or statuses, making it easy to track the progress of your projects.

By default, Productive recognizes three distinct stages of tasks: not started, started, and closed. Within these three stages, you are free to create and add separate statuses corresponding to each stage.

By setting up multiple task statuses through the Workflows feature, you'll gain the ability to filter and group your tasks more efficiently, as well as divide your processes into as many segments as needed.

Different projects can have different workflows; for example, you can select a development workflow for one project and a design workflow for another.

Accessing the Workflows

To set up your custom workflow, go to Settings > Workflows.


Here, the default workflow (consisting of the started, and closed task statuses) will always be shown, but you can edit it or create a new one with custom statuses.

You'll also see a counter representing the number of workflows currently set up in comparison to the number of workflows available in your subscription plan.

Setting Up a New Workflow

To add a new workflow, select "Add workflow". You'll be prompted to name your workflow and add the main task statuses.

Status fields are broken down into three main categories (stages):

  • Not started

  • Started

  • Closed

Note: the default workflow will only have two task statuses: one for the started and one for the closed task stage. You can edit it by adding more statuses or create a new workflow entirely.


Adding a Workflow to a Project

After customizing your task statuses and saving them as workflows, open the project's sidebar, navigate to the Workflows tab, and select "Change workflow".


Select the workflow for that project from the dropdown list and click "Next".

Since you are switching from one workflow to a new one, you'll need to map any existing task statuses to the new ones.

To do so, select the default statuses for new tasks and closed tasks, then confirm your choices by clicking "Update statuses".

Et voila! Your tasks are now ready to be categorized and grouped according to your preferences and desired flow.

Tip: Group your tasks by status, which also enables you to drag and drop all tasks, including subtasks, to different statuses.


Archiving a Workflow

To archive a workflow, select the Archive icon next to the workflow you want to remove in Settings > Workflows.

By archiving a workflow, you will free up space for new workflows. For example, archiving the default workflow will show 4/5 of used workflows.

Archived workflows, if used, will remain in projects until those projects are moved to another workflow. However, task statuses cannot be changed while an archived workflow is active on a project.

For more information, check out the video tutorial below:

Did this answer your question?