Go to Settings > File import. 

You can only import Companies and Contacts on your own for now. If you want to import something else (like Time entries or Invoices) please contact us directly using in-app chat. 

Companies and Contacts

To import this data, please download the .csv templates first, as displayed below. 

Once you start filling out the templates with data please do not delete any columns. If you do, the .csv document will not be recognized by the importer.

The data needs to be imported in this order - Companies first, Contacts second.
That's because a contact belongs to a company, so the company needs to exist first if a contact is to be attached to it. 

When you've filled out a template, e.g. Companies, simply drag and drop it into the upload box, or click the box to upload the document manually. 

Fixing errors 

When you upload a document, Productive will automatically check if there are any errors you need to fix before uploading the file successfully.

We have one error in the example above. Click further to fix this error. 

The problem with this document is that the Company name is missing in one row.

If there are a lot of errors you can tick the Only show rows with errors box, to make it easier to fix what's wrong with the file. 

To fix the error, add a company name and then click Check for errors. You should get no errors if you've fixed everything.

Click Proceed to import, and then click Import on the next screen. 

Reverting the import

If you want to remove the data that you've imported, you can look at the Import history below. You will see when a certain document was uploaded and by whom.

To remove the imported data, click the Revert import button. 

!IMPORTANT!

You will only be able to revert the imported data within 24 hours after the import was successfully performed. This is a safety precaution that is implemented to make sure your data doesn't get seriously damaged. 

For example, you could import 50 companies and open 50 projects linked to those companies. Your people could start logging time against those projects and in the next couple of weeks a substantial amount of data would be generated. If someone reverted the import after a couple of weeks and deleted the imported Companies, the Projects and time entries would disappear with the Companies.

If you really want to revert some of the imported data that's older than 24 hours, please contact us directly. 

Did this answer your question?